Call for participation in SDG sub-groups

Dear representatives of civil society, private sector and academia,

In follow up to the First Working Meeting of the Inter-Agency Committee on the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), which was co-hosted by the Prime Minister’s Office and UN Armenia Office on 7 March, we call on you to express interest in engaging in the following subgroups of the Inter-Agency Committee supporting the nationalization of the SDGs:

  1. SocialSDGs 1, 2, 3, 17 (co-chaired by Ms. Shamam Harutyunyan, Deputy Minister of Labour and Social Issues, and Mr. Sergey Khachatryan Deputy Minister of Healthcare);
  2. Economic – SDGs 7, 8, 9, 12, 17  (co-chaired by Mr. Pavel Safaryan, Chief Adviser to the Minister of Economic Development and Investments, and Mr. Makar Ghambaryan, Deputy Minister of International Economic Integration and Reforms);
  3. Environmental – SDGs 6, 11, 13, 14, 15, 17 (co-chaired by Mr. Khachik Hakobyan, Deputy Minister of Nature Protection, and Ms. Karine Danielyan, Secretary of the National Council on Sustainable Development);
  4. Legal and Democratic Equality – SDGs 4, 5, 10, 16, 17 (co-chaired by Mr. Vache Terteryan, First Deputy Minister of Territorial Administration and Development, and Mr. Vigen Kocharyan, Deputy Minister of Justice).

The SDGs nationalization process will be coordinated and implemented by the Inter-Agency Committee on the SDGs, which was established following N 155-A decree of the Prime Minister of the Republic of Armenia dated 21 February 2017. The Inter-Agency Committee on the SDGs will function under the National Council on Sustainable Development chaired by the Prime Minister. 

Please communicate your interest to Ms. Lilya Afrikyan, Prime Minister’s Office, at lilia.afrikyan@gov.am; 010 515767, 099 555166, and Ms. Anoush Avanesyan, UN Resident Coordinator’s Office, at anoush.avanesyan@undp.org; 060 530000 (ext. 210), 091 213693, indicating your organization, nominee name, position and contact information by 7 April 2017.

Should you have any further queries, please contact the aforementioned focal points from the Prime Minister’s Office and UN Resident Coordinator’s Office.